About the Office: People

Cultural Engagement Council

  • University Outreach and Engagement
  • Michigan State University
  • Telephone: (517) 355-2370
  • FAX: (517) 432-2846
  • Web Site: http://artsandculture.msu.edu

Executive Committee

  • Karen Wurst
  • Interim Chair, Cultural Engagement Council
  • Dean, College of Arts and Letters
  • E-Mail: wurst@cal.msu.edu
  • Michael J. Brand
  • Executive Director, Wharton Center for Performing Arts
  • Adjunct Professor, College of Music
  • University Outreach and Engagement Campus Senior Fellow
  • E-Mail: brandmi@msu.edu
  • C. Kurt Dewhurst
  • Director, Arts and Cultural Initiatives, University Outreach and Engagement
  • Curator of Folklife and Cultural Heritage, Michigan State University Museum
  • Professor, Department of English, College of Arts and Letters
  • University Outreach and Engagement Campus Senior Fellow
  • E-Mail: dewhurs1@msu.edu
  • Bio
  • Stephen L. Esquith
  • Dean, Residential College in the Arts and Humanities
  • Professor, Department of Philosophy, College of Arts and Letters
  • E-Mail: esquith@msu.edu
  • James B. Forger
  • Dean, College of Music
  • Professor, College of Music
  • University Outreach and Engagement Campus Senior Fellow
  • E-Mail: forger@msu.edu
  • Min Jung Kim
  • Associate Director, Broad Museum of Art
  • E-mail: minjkim@msu.edu
  • Gary Morgan
  • Director, MSU Museum
  • E-Mail: morgang@msu.edu
  • Bio | Vita
  • Michael Rush
  • Director, Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum
  • E-mail: mrush@msu.edu

Council Members

  • Susan J. Bandes
  • Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Arts and Letters
  • E-Mail: bandes@msu.edu
  • David Batch
  • Director, Abrams Planetarium
  • Adjunct Instructor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, College of Natural Science
  • E-Mail: dbatch@msu.edu
  • Bill Beekman
  • Executive Assistant to the President, President's Office Operations
  • Secretary, Board of Trustees
  • E-Mail: beekman@msu.edu
  • Thomas Berding
  • Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Arts and Letters
  • E-Mail: berding@msu.edu
  • Howard Bossen
  • Professor, School of Journalism, College of Communication Arts and Sciences
  • E-Mail: brandmi@msu.edu
  • Dana Brazil
  • Associate Director for Outreach and Engagement
  • Institute for Arts & Creativity, Wharton Center for the Performing Arts
  • E-Mail: dana.brazil@whartoncenter.com
  • Rhonda Buckley
  • Associate Dean for Outreach and Engagement, College of Music
  • Executive Director, MSU Community Music School
  • E-Mail: rbuckley@msu.edu
  • David D. Cooper
  • Director, Public Humanities Collaborative
  • Professor, Department of Writing, Rhetoric and American Cultures, College of Arts and Letters
  • University Outreach and Engagement Campus Senior Fellow
  • E-Mail: cooperd@msu.edu
  • Kirk Domer
  • Chair, Department of Theatre
  • Associate Professor, Department of Theatre
  • E-mail: domer@msu.edu
  • Leslie Donaldson
  • Executive Director, Arts Council of Greater Lansing
  • E-mail: leslie@lansingarts.org
  • Gabriel Dotto
  • Director, MSU Press
  • E-Mail: dotto@msu.edu
  • Anita M. Ezzo
  • Librarian II, MSU Libraries
  • E-Mail: ezzoa@msu.edu
  • Hiram E. Fitzgerald
  • Ex Officio, Cultural Engagement Council
  • Associate Provost for University Outreach and Engagement
  • University Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Social Science
  • E-Mail: fitzger9@msu.edu
  • Cynthia A. Ghering
  • Director, University Archives and Historical Collections
  • E-Mail: ghering@msu.edu
  • Deanne Michele Hamilton
  • Director, MSU Broadcasting Services
  • E-Mail: deanne@msu.edu
  • Joel Heberlein
  • Manager, Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center
  • Adjunct Lecturer, School of Hospitality Business, Eli Broad College of Business
  • E-Mail: heberle2@msu.edu
  • Lora Helou
  • Communications Manager, MSU Museum
  • E-Mail: helou@msu.edu
  • Michael J. Jenkins
  • Communications Director, College of Arts and Letters
  • E-Mail: jenki250@msu.edu
  • Patricia Walsh Lambert
  • Asistant to the Dean, International Studies and Programs
  • E-Mail: lamber73@msu.edu
  • Kent Love
  • Communications Director, Wharton Center for Performing Arts
  • E-Mail: loveke@msu.edu
  • Denise B. Maybank
  • Vice President, Student Affairs and Services
  • E-Mail: maybank@msu.edu
  • Lisa Mulcrone
  • Communications Manager, University Relations
  • E-Mail: mulcron2@msu.edu
  • George Peters
  • Acting Chair, Department of Theatre, College of Arts and Letters
  • E-Mail: petersg@msu.edu
  • Jeffrey M. Riedinger
  • Dean, International Studies and Programs
  • Director, Center for Advanced Study of International Development
  • Professor, Community, Agriculture, Recreation and Resource Studies, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • E-Mail: ispdean@msu.edu
  • Eileen Roraback
  • Associate Director, Public Humanities Collaborative
  • Academic Specialist, College of Arts and Letters
  • E-Mail: rorabac1@msu.edu
  • Paulette Granberry Russell
  • Director, Affirmative Action, Compliance, and Monitoring
  • E-Mail: Contact Jennifer Mitchner, Executive Assistant, Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives mitchner@msu.edu
  • Charles Salmon
  • Ellis N. Brandt Endowed Chair in Public Relations
  • Professor, Department of Advertising, Public Relations, and Retailing, College of Communication Arts and Sciences
  • E-Mail: salmon@msu.edu
  • Mark Sullivan
  • Associate Professor and Area Chair of Music Composition, College of Music
  • Director, Computer Music Studios, College of Music
  • Associate Professor, Residential College in the Arts and Humanities
  • E-Mail: sullivan@msu.edu
  • Cheryl Swanson
  • Director, Jack Breslin Student Events Center
  • E-Mail: cswanson@msu.edu
  • Kristan Tetens
  • Communications Manager, University Relations
  • E-Mail: tetenskr@msu.edu
  • Kent Wieland
  • TV Station Manager, MSU Broadcasting Services
  • E-Mail: wieland9@msu.edu